## CITY COUNCIL NEON ARTHORK PUBLIC HEARING MINUTES

Tacoma Dome December 6, 1984

Mayor Sutherland called the hearing to order at 7:08 p.m.

Council Members present: 9 - Bichsel, Hyde, Kirby, Ladenburg, Rasmussen, Stenger, Strege, Harnick, and Mayor Sutherland.

Mayor Sutherland explained that the purpose of the public hearing was to determine what the Council should do relative to the neon artwork installed in the Tacoma Dome. The Mayor then explained the public opinion ballot and outlined the options of the ballot and how to complete it. The Mayor explained that persons voting should be 18 years of age, eligible to vote in a City election, and reside in the City of Tacoma. He stated that he would call on individuals who had put their names on a sign-up sheet first and that testimony should be limited to two minutes. Further, he stated that on Friday, December 7, 1984, staff would count the ballots and tabulate the results.

Mayor Sutherland stated that the City Council had scheduled a study session for Tuesday, December 11, 1984, at noon, regarding the neon artwork ballot results. Also, at the regular City Council meeting on Tuesday, December 11, 1984, the City Council would attempt to bring the matter to a conclusion, based on the results of the ballots.

Mayor Sutherland called for public testimony.

Speaking to the Council were:

Rohn Burgess Edith Nash Gil Brown Jacki Skaught Bob Rieck Roy Kimbel Ted P. Fix Mark Turner Sam Rea Jon Hurst Joe Underwood Dick Moe Liz Heath John Best Elodie Vandevert Sally Hutton Charlotte Naccarato Downtown Tacoma Association 2502 South M Street 2311 - 112th Street Tacoma Dome Jury DuPont, Washington Cornerstone Development Company 18712 - 22nd Avenue East 4701 South 12th Seattle, Hashington 7401 - 46th Avenue East 6831 South Warner 304 North Stadium Way 717 North D Street 905 North Stadium Way 414 North C Street 3638 South Monroe 2623 North 30th Street

Minutes City Council Neon Artwork Public Hearing December 6, 1984 Page Two

> Beth Jensen Joanne Bamford Nelson Jeffers Christopher Skilton Crystal G. Rutherford Houston S. Himberly Ted J. Amell Lynn Williams Mozella Pooley Dee Hilson Don Newman Carolyn Bondy Laureen Roth Joe Gilligan David Carver William S. Clark, Jr. Bruce Bondy Howard Nagle Hiliam A. Daugherty Barbara Gottas Lorraine Branerman Margaret Skelton Elmer D. Stern Howard R. Smith Wilford A. Curtice Forrest Beals Katherine M. Stolz Patrick Langevin Richard J. Mahaffey Connie Lehmen Alan Vandevert A. J. Kerp Mark Haley

Dennis Cox John Bastian Paul Yostie Hank DeVore Joe Kraft Sondra Purcell Judith Guthrie Frank Hruza George See 812 North 11th Street Junior League of Tacoma 4118 North 38th 822 East Morton 1410 Division Avenue 1410 Division Avenue 1423 South Ferdinand 1711 North Bridge View Drive 8041 East Sherwood 3818 North 26th 812 East 34th 3330 North Villard 219 South 46th Street 1114 North Jackson 811 South Ainsworth 1016 South Ferry Street 3330 North Villard 2390 - 62nd Avenue East 2715 North 29th Street 3716 North Washington 2443 Lenore Drive 4845 A Street 6272 South Warner 1032 East 62nd Street 3816 South Fawcett 7827 South Wilkeson 1019 North Anderson 3717 North 24th 823 North K Street Gig Harbor, Washington 235 Broadway Tacoma Resident Tacoma-Pierce County Corporate Council for the Arts 516 East 68th 1633 North Vassault Tacoma Resident 306 North J Street 308 North J Street 3709 North 8th Street 968 Aurora Avenue South 3209 North Bristol Street 1032 South 72nd

Minutes City Council Neon Artwork Public Hearing December 6, 1984 Page Three

Mayor Sutherland thanked the individuals testifying for their patience and courage in speaking on this matter. There being no further public testimony, the Mayor declared the public hearing closed at 9:53 p.m.

THERLAND, MAYOR

ATTEST:

GENELLE BIRK, CITY CLERK

HPC.2563