

City Council Town Hall Meeting Minutes City Council District No. 4

http://www.cityoftacoma.org

Stewart Middle School, Auditorium, 5010 Pacific Avenue, Tacoma, Washington 98408

April 12, 2005

The Town Hall meeting was called to order at 6:08 p.m.

Council Members Present: 9 – Anderson, Evans, Ladenburg, Lonergan, Manthou, Phelps, Stenger, Talbert, and Mayor Baarsma.

Mayor Baarsma welcomed everyone to the District No. 4 Town Hall Meeting. He called on Council Member Talbert for introductory remarks.

Council Member Talbert introduced the City Council Members, City Manager James Walton, Acting City Attorney Elizabeth Pauli, and City Clerk Doris Sorum. He then indicated staff members from various City departments were present and available to answer questions.

Council Member Talbert called on Mr. Elton Gatewood, Neighborhood Council Coordinator, for an overview of the Neighborhood Council program.

Council Member Talbert then called on Mr. John Hargroves, Eastside Neighborhood Council Chairperson, for a brief Neighborhood update.

Council Member Talbert then called on Mr. Fred Brookshier, South End Neighborhood Council Chairperson, for a brief Neighborhood update.

Council Member Talbert then called on Ms. Lisa Wojtanowicz, Tacoma Cares Program Coordinator, to begin the Neighborhood Enhancement presentation.

Mayor Baarsma then opened the meeting for citizen comments related to City Council District No. 4.

Speaking before Council:

Name	Address/Affiliation
Edwina Magrum	2213 East 64th Street
Fred Brookshier	South End Neighborhood Council
Alton Porter	2615 East 70th Street
Diane Ivorson	Resident
Chris Wyatt	Resident

Terrell Smith	Resident
Dennis Kerr	3628 South K Street
Bridgette Washington	918 East 59 th Street
Doug W. McDonald	5718 South Verde Street
Shana Johnny	1523 South 94 th Street
Julie Davies	6214 South Sheridan Avenue
Camille Stimach	South End Neighborhood Council
Audrey Livingston	South Tacoma resident
Natalie Dam	Eastside/McKinley Hill resident
John Hargroves	Eastside Neighborhood Council
Kali Kucera	McKinley Hill resident
Nancy Nance	37 th Street/Sheridan Avenue resident
Sam Wafford	2320 South L Street
Tom Huff	Resident
Sue Roosevelt	Resident
Wendy Baker	Resident
Allen Douglass	University Place resident

Mayor Baarsma thanked Stewart Middle School Principal Howard King for allowing the City Council to hold its Council and Town Hall meetings at the school.

Mayor Baarsma announced the Town Hall meeting would replay on TV Tacoma, Channel 12, at various times and told the audience to call (253) 573-2489 or visit the City's website at <u>www.cityoftacoma.org</u> for the schedule.

On proper motion, the City Council Town Hall meeting was adjourned at 8:14

ARSMA. MAYOR

ATTEST:

DORIS SORUM, CITY CLERK